Faculty & research interests
Dr. Robert Adlam
Associate Professor
Research on the Athapaskan Tahltan of northern British Columbia and Mi'kmaq of northern New Brunswick on their riverine salmon fisheries. (On sabbatical until December 2017)
Tel. 364-2356 radlam@mta.ca

Dr. Henry Cary
Lecturer
Historical buildings archaeology; anthropology of architecture; vernacular architecture; military sites; perceptions of space and landscape; cultural landscapes; field methods in archaeology; eastern North America; Sub-Arctic and Arctic Canada
hcary@mta.ca

Dr. Patricia Kelly Spurles
Department Head/Associate Professor
Decision-making in breastfeeding; breastfeeding in Canada and Morocco; gender, ritual and space; henna practices; female and male life cycle rituals; gender and law in Muslim societies; Muslim minorities in the West; and gender and tourism.
pkellyspurles@mta.ca

Dr. Paulette Steeves
(Cree-Metis) Assistant Professor Indigenous anthropologist/archaeologist,
Indigenous people’s history during the Pleistocene of the Western Hemisphere (the Americas). Decolonizing academia and knowledge production, Indigenizing curriculum. Weaving Indigenous Method, Theory and Knowledge into Western educational institutions.
Tel. 364-2335   psteeves@mta.ca
 
Dr. Marilyn Walker
Professor
Medical anthropology and ethnobotany; traditional medicine and indigenous knowledge (in Mongolia, Siberia, Southeast Asia, India, arctic/subarctic & eastern Canada); circumpolar shamanism; deep ecology; complementary & alternative medicine, naturopathy. (On leave)
mwalker@mta.ca

Part-time Faculty

Professor Moira McLaughlin              
Forensic Anthropology 

Dr. Natalie Ward
Social representations, qualitative and mixed methods, health and health services, sociology of and in medicine, media studies. 
Introduction to Anthropology
nward@mta.ca


Staff
 
Alison L. Estabrooks
Secretary
Tel. 364-2326 aestabrooks@mta.ca   

Darlene M. Estabrooks
Office Supervisor
Tel. 364-2204 dmestabrooks@mta.ca    

Rebecca Leaman
Career Services Coordinator    
Tel. 364-2226   rleaman@mta.ca

Raine Phythian
Faculty of Social Sciences Coordinator
Tel. 364-3223  rphythia@mta.ca

 

 
Mailing Address: 144 Main Street, Sackville, NB, Canada E4L 1A7
Fax Number: (506)364-2625