Mount Allison University logo.

Mount Allison faculty, alumni up for various ECMAs
2013-01-18 11:14:16

Faculty and alumni from Mount Allison University are showcasing their musical talents with several nominations for this year’s East Coast Music Awards (ECMA) taking place March 10 in Halifax. This year marks the 25th anniversary of the regional awards.

Allisonians among the nominees include:

Classical Recording of the Year

Dr. David Rogosin (associate music professor) — Evocation

Edmund Dawe (former faculty) and Lynn Johnson (music instructor), Duo Pianists — Dialogue

Dr. Helen Pridmore (associate music professor) and Wesley Ferreira (former faculty) — Between the Shore and the Ships

Gospel Recording of the Year

Eleanor McCain (’91)Holiday

Country Recording of the Year

The Keats (Sharlene ’05 and Jolene ’05) — Free At Last

Roots/Traditional Group Recording of the Year

The Barra MacNeils (Stewart ’87, Kyle ’85, Lucy ’91, and Sheumas ’84) — The Barra MacNeils live with Symphony Nova Scotia

David Myles (’03) also collected nominations in several categories including: Fan’s Choice; Fan’s Choice Video of the Year (for “Long Dark Night” with director Hiep Vu); and Folk Recording of the Year (for Into the Sun).

For the full nomination list and more information visit

Photo caption: The 2013 ECMA-nominated Barra MacNeils perform at Mount Allison University’s 2012 Reunion Celebrations (photo credit Gary Tucker).

Marketing and Communications Office

65 York Street
Sackville NB E4L 1E4
Phone: (506) 364-2345
Fax: (506) 364-2262