Mount Allison University logo.

Mount Allison announces 2012-13 Bell Scholars
2013-02-08 15:08:08

SACKVILLE, NB — A former Miss Grand Falls NB, aspiring barber and poet, and an award-winning cross-country runner are among this year’s Bell Scholarship, Achievement Award, and Mary Emerancy Pickard Music Scholarship recipients at Mount Allison University. Valued at $48,000, $36,000, and $24,000 over four years, the awards are the most prestigious entrance awards at Mount Allison.

Mount Allison University President and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Robert Campbell says, “This year’s Bell Scholarship and Achievement Award recipients are an exceptional group of young people who have come to Mount Allison from across the country and around the world. I am pleased to welcome them to campus and wish them every success in their future endeavours, at Mount Allison and beyond.”

This year’s Bell Scholarship ($12,000 renewable over four years) recipients are: Hilary Drake (West Vancouver, BC); Philippe LeBoeuf (Dieppe, NB); Kevin Levangie (Saint John, NB); Norman Nehmetallah (Windsor, ON); Amanda Rundle (Summerside, PEI); Kirsten Weagle (Hebbville, NS); and Makyla Walerickton (Guelph, ON).

Bell Achievement Award recipients ($9,000 renewable over four years) include: Rachel Cundiff (Calais, ME); Jeehan Jawed (United Arab Emirates); Brynne Langford (Nanaimo, BC); and Sarah MacCallum (Pictou, NS).

D’Arcy Blunston (Grand Falls, NB) is the 2012-13 recipient of the Mary Emerancy Pickard Music Scholarship ($6,000 renewable over four years).

About the Bell Scholarship and Achievement Awards at Mount Allison University

Established in 2002 as the premier entrance scholarship at Mount Allison, the Bell Scholarship and Achievement Awards celebrate students who have demonstrated strong academic ability, leadership potential, volunteer work, extracurricular activities, work experience, and good citizenship.

Mount Allison students have benefited from the generous contributions to the University made by the Bell Family (and the Bell Endowment Funds) over the years. Their generous support, through such scholarships as the Marguerite Deinstadt scholarships, the Ralph Pickard Bell scholarships, Mary Emerancy Pickard scholarship and various bursaries, has helped finance the academic careers of hundreds of Mount Allison students over the past 50 years, with scholarships and other forms of financial support.

For more information on Mount Allison University’s scholarship and bursary program please visit

Photo caption (l-r): Mount Allison University’s 2012-13 Bell Scholar and Achievement Award recipients, front row: Makyla Walkericton, Sarah MacCallum, Byrnne Langford, Hilary Drake, Rachel Cundiff, and D’Arcy Blunston. Back row (l-r): Norman Nehmetallah, Kevin Levangie, Amanda Rundle, Kirsten Weagle, Jeehan Jawed, and Philippe LeBoeuf.


Marketing and Communications Office

65 York Street
Sackville NB E4L 1E4
Phone: (506) 364-2345
Fax: (506) 364-2262