Dr. John Ernest Alexander Crake was Professor of Classics at Mount Allison University from 1946 to 1976. Seven years before his death in 1983 he founded the Crake Institute which began a program of support for projects which reflected his concern for the Humanities (particularly Classics), scholarship, Mount Allison and the Anglican Church. The J.E.A. Crake Foundation continues and builds upon the work undertaken by the Institute.


The Crake Lectureship in Classical Studies
The Department of Classics and the Crake Foundation annually invite a distinguished scholar to give a public lecture on a subject drawn from the cultures of Greece and Rome.

In October 2017, joint lectures were given by Drs. Andrew Faulkner from the University of Waterloo and Myles McCallum from Saint Mary's University.


The Crake Doctoral Fellowship in ClassicsC Gardner Crake Fellow Lecture 2017
This fellowship is awarded annually to a graduate student who can reasonably be expected to finish their doctorate in Classics during the year of tenure. The holder is asked to teach the equivalent of six credits and give a public lecture.

Our Crake Doctoral Fellow in Classics for 2016-17 was Chelsea Gardner (seen right). In March, she presented her lecture titled "Show Me The Mani: Caves, Pirates, & Death in Greek Antiquity" at the Owens Art Gallery.

The Fellow for the 2017-18 academic year is Simeon Ehrlich from Stanford University.


The Crake Traveling Scholarship For Summer Study in Greece or Italy

This scholarship is awarded annually to a second or third year student in Classics at Mount Allison. The award has an approximate value of $6000 and covers the cost of return airfare, room and board, and tuition for a summer programme recognized by the Department of Classics. Qualified students should consult the Head of the Department before the end of the Fall term.

The application form for this year's scholarship is available here. Please fill out the form in your browser, print it, sign it and drop it off with the Classics administrative assistant, Hart Hall Room 112.

The competition for 2018 applications has closed.