Welcome to the 2019 - 2020 year in the English Department
Faculty 2019-2020 
Our faculty members, Dr. Janine Rogers, Dr. Robert Lapp, Dr. Karen Bamford, Dr. Peter Brown, Dr. Terrence Craig (Winter 2020), Dr. Deborah Wills (Winter 2020) and Dr. Andrea Beverley, will be teaching this year.
Please see the English Website English Courses 2019-2020 for a complete list.
Dr. Geordie Miller will be teaching ENGL 3871 A in the Fall 2019 term and ENGL 1501A in the Winter 2020 term.
  Dr. Sarah Fanning will be teaching ENGL 1201B and ENGL 1201E in the Fall 2019 term, and ENGL1201 A in the Winter 2020 term.

  Fall 2019

English 4701: Los Angeles

Los Angeles  

 Dr. Peter Brown
 Fall 2019, M 3:00 - 5:50

ENGL 4701A Los Angeles. What do you think of when you hear those words? Hollywood? Freeways? Urban sprawl? Riots? Disneyland? Beaches? Something else? In this seminar course, we will examine representations of Los Angeles in literary works and other cultural forms, especially film and popular music. We will explore different interpretations of the city, different meanings ascribed to it, but we will also attempt to critique and see through the layers of myth that make it almost unknowable. For more information or permission to register,
contact Dr. Peter Brown pbrown@mta.ca

Fall 2019
ENGL 4231: Ecopoetics

 Dr. Robert Lapp
Winter 2020, M 2:30-5:20

 ENGL 4231A Ecopoetics is the theory and practice of creating literary art that responds to an endangered environment. This course briefly examines the roots of ecopoetics in 18 th -c Romanticism and 19 th -c Nature-Writing before focusing on its rapid proliferation in the present moment under the pressure of unfolding ecological disaster. Selected theoretical perspectives (including Romantic Ecology, Ecofeminism, and Ecological Justice), along with a provisional taxonomy of ecopoetical genres, will help navigate a range of examples, many of which will be selected and introduced by members of the class. An important aim of the course will be to develop potentially publishable interventions in public discourse---whether as essays or original ecopoetry---in order to directly apply the values of responsible research and informed creativity to the crisis at hand. If you have questions about the course or would like to enroll, contact Dr. Robert Lapp at rlapp@mta.ca  


   Department of English Literatures: Summary of Scholarships and Prizes for April 2019:

The McKiel Scholarship
(Awarded annually to a 3rd-year student completing a Major or HONS in ENGL in his/her fourth year and who demonstrates high academic achievement)
2018-2019 winner: Kenedy Longaphie

The Allison Watson Beveridge Prize
· Awarded to the Honours ENGL student with highest achievement in completing an ENGL program)
2019 winner: Tyler Haché

The Jennie Robinson Quinn Scholarship
· Awarded to the female student with highest standing in ENGL in the university
2019 winner: Ainslie Campbell

The Grace Tomkinson Memorial Prize
· Awarded to the third year ENGL student with highest achievement
2019 winner: Maia Herriot

The Edwin Ernest Graham Prize
· A book prize (or cash equivalent) awarded to a second-year student for excellence in 2000-level ENGL course
2019 winner: Kie Gates

Bryce McKiel Essay Prize
· Awarded annually to a student who has delivered the most impressive essay on a subject related to the analysis of literature in English, and high achievement in the discipline of good writing and clear thought and has completed two ENGL courses
2019 winner: Samuelle Saindon

 The Roger Calkins Prize in Shakespeare Studies
· This prize, established by the English faculty in honour of Dr. Roger Calkins, is awarded to the student with the highest achievement in Shakespeare studies each year.
2019 winner: Hanna Wilson

The Carrie MacMillan Prize in Canadian Literature
· This prize, established by the English faculty in honour of Dr. Carrie MacMillan, is awarded each year to the student with the highest achievement in the study of Canadian Literature.
2019 winner: Mirelle Naud

MASU Departmental Prize
· Awarded by MASU each year to the Department’s choice for their most deserving student.
2019 winner: Tyler Haché
Hazel Steeves Creative Writing Prize
· Awarded by Department to the Department’s choice for their most deserving student.
2019 winner: Tyler Haché
Dr. Will R. Bird Memorial Scholarship Prize
· Awarded by Department to a second-year student with excellent writing skills and interests.
2019 winner: Maggie Washington

 ENGL 1121A  (Literature, Science & Technology:  Science Fiction)
Winter 2017 Course Magazine

  This magazine was curated by 2 members of the class and includes creative
  work inspired by the themes and concepts of the course.

Please click image below

  The Realms of Possibility 

   ENGL 3991A Winter 2017

 An Ecopoetic Anthology:  creative writing by members of the class inspired
 by the themes and authors of the course.

Please click image below