The department is privileged to be endowed with three annual prizes presented to majors or honours recipients:

  • The David Beatty History Prize, commemorating the career of Dr. David Beatty, a much admired teacher and scholar, is awarded to the student graduating with the highest GPA in honours history.
  • The I.O.D.E (N.B Chapter) Prize is awarded to the student ranking highest in standing in British and/or Commonwealth history.
  • The Ian Newbould Prize in British History is awarded to the student judged best in British history.

Winners of departmental prizes for 2013 are:

  • Lea Foy (Beatty Prize)
  • Leanne Gaudet (I.O.D.E. Prize)
  • Julia Cadney (Newbould Prize)