The Political Science BA program is designed for students who are interested in the study of politics. The study of politics is concerned with the nature and workings of power, state and government; the rights and duties of citizenship; the limits and possibilities of collective political action; and the social, economic, and cultural formations that shape the life of the political community. The scope of inquiry is local, national, and international; it includes the empirical analysis of individuals, groups, institutions and processes as well as the investigation of longstanding philosophical questions concerning human nature, freedom, democracy, and justice.

The department offers an honours, major, or minor Bachelor of Arts (BA) program. A minor in political science can also be taken with a Bachelor of Science.

The Political Science program is organized into four main subfields: Canadian politics, Comparative Politics, International Politics, and Political Theory.  The program offers students the opportunity to gain a strong foundation in all four subfields and to combine empirical, practical and theoretical approaches in each year of study. In addition to the Canadian Politics subfield, students can take specialized area courses in Africa, the United States, Europe, and the Middle East. Political Science students who seek a more intensive concentration in one particular subfield can integrate courses from other programs in Canadian Studies, International Relations, History and Philosophy. 

For the courses required for each program and their prerequisites see the Academic Calendar.

To help plan out your Politics program, click here for Program Planning for Politics students.

When advice is needed on the politics program, students can contact the Program Advisor, Dr. Mario Levesque ( (

To keep track of the courses you have taken, it is useful to fill in a Degree Audit Form.