Terms of reference
The purpose of this Committee is to preserve the integrity of the academic programs and regulations.

The Committee will review and make recommendations to Senate on the following:

  • proposed changes in courses, including changes in prerequisites, and new courses;
  • proposed program changes with respect to minor, major and honours requirements;
  • proposed changes in degree regulations;
  • any other academic regulations.

Factors to be taken into account when reviewing proposals include the academic rationale and need for the proposal, the impact on existing programs, and the viability of the proposal in terms of current resources.

The Committee will refer proposals to the University Planning Committee if they affect long range planning or involve significant additional costs.

The Committee will refer matters to Faculty Council when appropriate.

If the Committee rejects a proposal, it may be modified and re-submitted to the Committee, or it may be taken directly to the Senate.

Academic Matters Submissions Guidelines:

All changes to courses and academic programs must be approved by Senate. Departments are required to submit their Academic Matters proposals to the other Heads in their Faculty (or programs that may be affected by their proposals) for comment and feedback, and after this consultation to their academic Dean.  Proposals are then forwarded by that Dean to the Chair of the Academic Matters Committee.  Deadlines for submission each year to the Chair from the Dean are:

November 15th for major Calendar changes (generally, changes to program structure or submissions of over three pages in length)
December 15th for minor Calendar changes

The Academic Matters Committee meets weekly during term and works through submissions in the order they were received.  The Committee does not normally meet in the summer months. This may mean a delay of weeks or months from the time the submission is made to when proposals are presented to Senate.  Attached please find the template for this year as well as the Academic Matters style guide for submissions.  If you have any questions, please direct them to the Chair of the Academic Matters Committee.


The Academic Matters Committee has seven members.

Two ex-officio members:

  • an academic dean (chair) — Elizabeth Wells
  • the registrar (secretary) — Chris Parker

Four faculty or librarians, elected by the Senate, with representation from each of the three faculties:

  • Valerie Narayan (2018-2021)
  • Fab Antonelli (2017-2020)
  • Bruce Robertson (1 Jan 2018 - 30 Jun 2020)
  • Liam Keliher (2018 - 2021)

One student, elected by the Senate:

  • Everett Patterson

Two ex-officio members and at least three elected members.