Terms of reference
The Committee is the nominating committee for all Senate and Faculty Council committees.

The Committee will act as the nominating committee for Presidential committees when requested.

When nominating members to committees the Committee will consider:

  • the fair distribution of committee work among elected members;
  • the nominee’s experience, knowledge and interest in the specific mandate of the committee.

The Committee will keep under general review the committee structure of the University. It will review the terms of reference and composition of all standing committees of the Senate, the Faculty Council and the President, and make recommendations for changes where appropriate. In particular, it should consider which committees have served their purpose and should be disbanded.

The Secretary of Senate will call for nominations to fill vacancies on this Committee, and Senate will elect the members. Nominations will not be made by members of the Committee.

The members of the Committee may not nominate themselves for any Senate or Faculty Council committees.

The Committee on Committees has five members.

Five faculty or librarians, of whom at least three will be Senators, elected by the Senate (the chair will be a Senator):

  • Loralea Michaelis (2017-2019)
  • Jane Dryden (2016-2019)
  • Laurie Ricker (2018-2021)
  • Jennifer Tomes (2017-2019)
  • William Lundell (2017-2019)

At least three members.