Terms of reference
The Committee will:

  • review existing programs, course offerings and policies regarding graduate studies at Mount Allison and make recommendations for changes to the Senate where appropriate. This includes but is not limited to:
    • criteria and regulations for admission to graduate studies
    • organization of thesis defenses
    • policies and mechanisms for establishing, monitoring and completing programs of studies
    • policies regarding the financial support of graduate students (including but not limited to specifying reasonable minimum levels of remuneration)
    • a mechanism to adjudicate disputes related to graduate studies admissions, programs and defenses
  • establish, review, and oversee criteria for graduate student scholarships and awards that fall within its purview.

The Graduate Studies Committee has seven members.

One ex-officio non-voting member:

  • the dean of graduate studies — Amanda Cockshutt

Five faculty elected by Senate, with representation from each of the three faculties, including three from the Science faculty with at least one member from the Chemistry and Biochemistry department and at least one member from the Biology department. One alternate faculty member elected by Senate; and one graduate student, elected by Senate. Before September, the Committee will elect one of its elected members to be chair of the committee, and the Committee on Committees will be informed.

  • Hannah Lane (2017-2020)
  • Josh Kurek (2017-2020)
  • Jeff Waller (2017-2020)
  • Vett Lloyd, Chair (2016-2019)
  • Matt Litvak (1 Jan 2018 - 30 Jun 2020)

 One alternate:

  • Odette Gould (2018-2021)

One Graduate Student, elected by Senate

  • Md. Hasibul Haque

At least four elected members.