Terms of reference
The Committee will:

  • be responsible for recommending to Senate policies, guidelines and general criteria for the awarding of scholarships and bursaries;
  • make recommendations with regard to the general allocation of funds, taking into consideration the University’s policies and procedures, and any special conditions associated with the funds;
  • give advice on individual awards, especially with respect to in course scholarships, when appropriate. 

The Scholarships and Bursaries Committee has seven members.

Two ex-officio members:

  • the vice-president, academic and research (chair) — Jeff Ollerhead
  • the financial aid and awards counsellor —  Maria Thistle

Four faculty or librarians, elected by the Senate:

  • Mohammad Ahmady (2018-2021)
  • Joshua Kurek (2017-2019)
  • Roopen Majithia (2017-2020)
  • Cordula Quint (2018-2021)

One student, elected by the Senate:

  • Laren Bedgood

At least two ex-officio members and at least two elected members.