Terms of reference
The Committee will:

  • advise and make recommendations to Senate on university planning through a regular review of the goals and priorities of the University, in particular its academic departments and programs;
  • assess and make recommendations to Senate — or (if appropriate) one of its committees — on proposals for major changes in academic programs and in the size and distribution of student enrolments;
  • as part of the budget development process, assess and make recommendations to the appropriate body on the efficient use of the University’s human, physical and financial resources, having due regard for academic, financial and other implications;
  • establish procedures for academic unit reviews and oversee the academic unit review process;
  • undertake studies into any matters which have implications for the University’s educational objectives and long range plans, and recommend to Senate on appropriate strategies to respond to such issues. Such studies may arise from a review of any unit within the University, or from developments in the field of higher education at the provincial and national levels;
  • consider any other issue referred to it by the President, the Senate or one of its committees, the Faculty Council through Senate, or any other University committee or senior administrator;
  • report  at  each  meeting  of  the  Senate,  and  at  least  once  each  term  this  report shall  be  in  writing,  with  a  copy  to  be  sent  to  the  Secretary  of  the  Faculty Council.

As  appropriate,  resource  personnel  will  be  invited to  attend  meetings  of  the committee. 

The University Planning Committee has 13 members.

Five ex-officio members: 

  • the vice-president, academic and research (chair) — Jeff Ollerhead
  • the University librarian — Marc Truitt
  • the three academic deans
  • Amanda Cockshutt
  • Nauman Farooqi
  • Elizabeth Wells

Six faculty or librarians elected by the Senate, with representation from each of the three Faculties:

  • Andrew Nurse (2016-2019)
  • Wayne Hunt (2018-2021)
  • Erin Steuter (2017-2020)
  • Juan Carlos Martinez (2017-2020)
  • Geoff Cruttwell (2016-2019)
  • Mark Hamilton (2018-2021)

Two students, elected by the Senate:

  • Nigel Verret
  • Noah Fry

At least three ex-officio members, at least four elected faculty or librarians, and at least one student.