The Paul Paré Medal is given annually to a faculty member at Mount Allison who has best exemplified outstanding teaching, outstanding research, scholarship, and/or creative activities (appropriate to his or her rank), and an exemplary record of service. All full-time, tenured faculty members are eligible for nomination. Candidates’ contributions at Mount Allison during the previous seven-year period shall be the basis for the selection process.

An individual may be recognized more than once for his/her meritorious contributions provided that a span of seven years occurs between awards. The Paul Paré medallist may have previously received a Paul Paré Excellence Award, but this is not a requirement. Concurrent nominations of the same individual for the Paul Paré Medal and the Paul Paré Excellence Awards are not permitted.

The Paul Paré Medal is the pre-eminent faculty award at Mount Allison University. The medallist receives a $7,500 award and is recognized at Convocation. The monetary award is to be used to support the medallist’s research, teaching and professional activities.

A nomination packages must consist of:

  • a written confirmation of nomination, indicating that the nomination has been accepted
  • a letter of nomination
  • two letters of support from persons other than the nominator (at least one letter, either the nomination letter or a supporting letter, must be from a current or former student); self-nominations are permitted, and in such circumstances, at least three letters of support are required, one of which must be from a current or former student
  • the nominee’s current CV, teaching dossier, and a summary of meritorious research and/or creative activities over the previous 7 years. 
  • submit your completed nomination as a pdf document by e-mail to 

Adjudication panel
The provost will chair the adjudication of nominations for the Paul Paré Awards. Membership of the adjudication panel will include one academic dean, one Paré winner from the previous year, normally the medal winner, one member of the research and creative activities committee, and one member of the teaching and learning committee.