Celebrating Teaching Excellence at Mount Allison University
The Herbert and Leota Tucker Teaching Award

 Nomination deadline for the Tucker Award is December 1.

The Herbert and Leota Tucker Teaching Award is Mount Allison's highest recognition of teaching excellence and our only university-wide teaching award. Established by Edmund, Harold and William Tucker in memory of their parents, it is intended to encourage excellence in teaching at Mount Allison University by acknowledging those who exemplify this excellence.  
Nominations are invited from any member of the University community--including students, whose nominations are especially welcome.
Please note that letters of nomination and support are most convincing when the writer has actually observed the nominee teach (whether as a peer invited into the classroom or as a student in a course).


To be eligible, nominees for the Tucker Teaching Award must:

  • Be tenured or tenure-track professors at Mount Allison University;
  • Have completed at least five years of full-time teaching at the University at the time of nomination; and
  • Have demonstrated during at least those past five years outstanding teaching, educational leadership, and teaching scholarship.  

Previous Tucker Award Winners 


Excellence in teaching encompasses a wide spectrum of activities. The following are among the criteria for the Tucker Award:

  • Showing enthusiasm for and capacity to arouse interest in the subject  
  • Encouraging high academic standards among students
  • Maintaining rapport, accessibility, and effective communication with students
  • Involving students in research, creative work, or other forms of experiential learning
  • Employing innovative pedagogical and assessment methods
  • Demonstrating leadership by participating in programs and initiatives such as course development, curriculum renewal, teaching-related committees, academic advising, and so on.
  • Promoting teaching excellence and the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning at Mount Allison and elsewhere by, for example, participation in programs and attendance or presentations at local, regional, or national teaching events.

In short, a Tucker nominee epitomizes the very best in university teaching, and is someone recognized and respected by students and peers for a passion for his or her discipline, excellent teaching, influential leadership in teaching and learning initiatives, and a reflective, scholarly approach to teaching.

To nominate a faculty member:  

  • Check with your nominee to ensure that she/he fulfills the eligibility criteria, accepts your nomination, and is willing to take part in assembling the supporting dossier 
  • Write a letter, addressed to the Herbert and Leota Tucker Teaching Award Committee, detailing why the nominee deserves this Award.
    Please note that this nomination letter becomes part of the official dossier; therefore, it should contain persuasive, detailed, concrete examples of the nominee's qualifications for the award.  Submit your nomination electronically to Provost@mta.ca 

Note: There is no limit to the number of times an individual may be nominated, and re-nominations are warmly welcomed. Nominees will normally be invited to let their names stand for a second or third year (especially in cases where a sabbatical has occurred) with the option to submit an updated, revised dossier. 

Please use as the subject line of your e-mail "Tucker Award Nomination."

Selection Committee

  • Purdy Crawford Professor of Teaching & Learning (Chair, non-voting)
  • Three previous teaching award recipients to be chosen by the President/Provost
  • Academic librarian
 (usually the librarian currently serving on the Senate Teaching & Learning Committee)
  • VP Academic Affairs of MASU (or designate)

  • A student senator to be chosen by MASU

  • A Mount Allison Alumnus/a to be chosen by Alumni Council

The Award
The Tucker recipient receives a citation at May Convocation, gives a public presentation as part of the Fall Teaching Day, and becomes the university’s nominee in a subsequent year for the regional Association of Atlantic Universities’ Distinguished Teaching or Educational Leadership Award.

 The Award also carries a $5000 prize, which will go directly to the individual (or to the individual’s Professional Development Reimbursement Account).