Applications are accepted until October 31, 2017

Applications are welcome from eligible faculty members for a Marjorie Young Bell Faculty Fellowship (see 'Eligibility below). 

Application process

Applications must be submitted using the on-line application system Romeo @ MTA.
Eligible faculty members who wish to be considered must include the following in their application:

  • A description of the proposed project or program of research / creative activity (6 pages maximum). The description should make the potential impact and significance of the project or program clear to an educated but non-specialist audience.
  • A detailed budget, with justification for the proposed expenditures. Awards are expendable over two years and can range from $10,000 to $30,000 in total.
  • A list of up to three external (non-Mount Allison) reviewers for the proposal.
  • A current curriculum vitae.

Instructions on how to submit using the Romeo system.


The Marjorie Young Bell Faculty Fellowship Committee will consider applications for research / creative activity and scholarship from eligible tenure-track faculty members at Mount Allison university. At the time of application, individuals must be in their first, second, or third year of a tenure-track appointment at Mount Allison.  


To recognize and support excellent research and scholarship by tenure-track faculty members at Mount Allison University by facilitating the execution of a large-scale project or program of research.

Amount and number of awards
The number of awards per year is at the discretion of the adjudication committee, but normally shall not be greater than three. At its discretion, the adjudication committee may pre-commit up to 50 per cent of the allocation for the next year to support a particularly large or multi-year project.

Allocation process
Marjorie Young Bell Faculty Fellowships are awarded through a competition. Applications are made to the Provost and Vice-president, Academic and Research, and are adjudicated by a committee consisting of:

  • the Provost and Vice-president, Academic and Research (chair)
  • two members of the Marjorie Young Bell Endowment Fund Committee
  • one academic dean

During the tenure of an award, the award holder will be known as a “Marjorie Young Bell Faculty Fellow.”

Any funds that remain un-expended at the end of the second academic year of the award shall be returned and recapitalized.