The following information about course requirements and delivery formats is intended to help students with course planning for the Winter 2021 term by providing details that are not available on the Winter Timetable or in Connect.

The Winter Timetable provides a full list of courses offered in the Winter 2021 term, including meeting schedules and delivery formats (also available in Connect).

If a course does not appear on this supplementary information list, there is no further information to report (i.e. the delivery method described in Connect is accurate, or the instructor did not report any alternative information). If you have questions about a course not listed here, please contact the course instructor directly.

Option to complete remotely: Some courses with on-campus elements offer an option to complete remotely for students who cannot be on campus. Students interested in this option should contact the course instructor to make appropriate arrangements.

Option to register in a timetable conflict: Students must submit the Permission Request form in Connect to appeal for registration in a timetable conflict. In advance of doing so, they should contact both course instructors to seek their agreement.

Please e-mail the course instructor with any questions about the supplementary course information.

Find information about courses in: 


ARTS & HUMANITIES

ARTS 2991 Arts and Athletics
Instructor: Janine Rogers (jrogers@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: Option to complete remotely if student is unable to be on campus; if any students choose to complete remotely the class will meet in person once per week and online once per week

CANA 1011 Representing Canada: An Introduction
Instructor: Andrea Beverley (abeverley@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: Option to complete remotely if student is unable to be on campus; students will meet once a week on campus if they choose an in-person format for discussion group (virtual meetings for discussion groups are also an option)

CANA/INDG 2501 Contemporary Indigenous Issues
Instructor: Karl Hele (khele@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: Option to complete remotely if student is unable to be on campus

CANA/INDG 3501 Aboriginal Political and Legal Issues
Instructor: Karl Hele (khele@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: Option to complete remotely if student is unable to be on campus

CANA 4611 Imagining Canada
Instructor: Andrea Beverley (abeverley@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: Option to complete remotely if student is unable to be on campus

DRAM/ENGL 1701 Introduction to Drama Studies
Instructor: Glen Nichols (gnichols@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled Online-Only
Supplemental info: Option to register in a timetable conflict

DRAM/ENGL 3841 Modern Canadian Drama
Instructor: Glen Nichols (gnichols@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled Online-Only
Supplemental info: Option to register in a timetable conflict

ENGL 4991 Word-Body-World

Instructor: Janine Rogers (jrogers@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: Option to complete remotely if student is unable to be on campus; if any students choose to complete remotely the class will meet in person once per week and online once per week

FREN 3611 Existentialisme et Après
Instructor: Mark Lee (mlee@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: Option to complete remotely if student is unable to be on campus

GERM 2011 Intermediate German II
Instructor: Lisa Deighton (ldeighton@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled Online-Only
Supplemental info: Option to register in a timetable conflict; lessons are pre-recorded and short meetings occur weekly, ideally during the regularly scheduled class time; labs are not scheduled in Connect and are planned at times that suit the student.

HIST 1691 American Social Movements in the 60s

Instructor: Elaine Naylor (enaylor@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: Option to complete remotely if student is unable to be on campus

HIST/RELG 3481 Religious Traditions in Canada

Instructor: Hannah Lane (hlane@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: Option to complete remotely if student is unable to be on campus

HIST 4901 Archives and Research Methods

Instructor: Hannah Lane (hlane@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: Option to complete remotely if student is unable to be on campus

INDG 1001 Intro to Indigenous Studies
Instructor: Karl Hele (khele@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: Option to complete remotely if student is unable to be on campus

INDG/CANA 2501 Contemporary Indigenous Issues
Instructor: Karl Hele (khele@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: Option to complete remotely if student is unable to be on campus

INDG/CANA 3501 Aboriginal Political and Legal Issues
Instructor: Karl Hele (khele@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: Option to complete remotely if student is unable to be on campus

MUSC 1111 Materials of Music II
Instructor: Alan Dodson (adodson@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled Online-Only
Supplemental info: Option to take mid-terms and finals in-person, on campus

MUSC 1211 Music History and Literature
Instructor: Linda Pearse (lpearse@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: This class will meet in-person on Mondays, and online at the scheduled time on Wednesdays and Fridays.

MUSC 1511/2511/3511 Applied Voice

Instructor: Catherine Abele Landry (cabelelandry@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: Option to complete remotely if student is unable to be on campus

MUSC 1601 Collaborative Keyboard I
Instructor: Stephen Runge (srunge@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: Option to complete remotely if student is unable to be on campus

MUSC 2111 Materials of Music IV
Instructor: Alan Dodson (adodson@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled Online-Only
Supplemental info: Option to take mid-terms and finals in-person, on campus

MUSC 2211 Music History and Literature III
Instructor: Linda Pearse (lpearse@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: This class will meet in-person on Mondays, and online at the scheduled time on Wednesdays and Fridays.
 
MUSC 4181 Analytical Techniques
Instructor: Alan Dodson (adodson@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled Online-Only
Supplemental info: Option to take mid-term in-person, on campus

MUSC 4221 Proseminar in Music History

Instructor: Linda Pearse (lpearse@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: Option to complete remotely if student is unable to be on campus; students will meet on-campus once per week

RELG 3411 Gender Issues in Eastern Religions
Instructor: Barbra Clayton (bclayton@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: Option to complete remotely if student is unable to be on campus

RELG/HIST 3481 Religious Traditions in Canada
Instructor: Hannah Lane (hlane@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: Option to complete remotely if student is unable to be on campus

VMCS 1201 Introduction to Visual Culture

Instructor: Lauren Beck (lbeck@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled Online-Only
Supplemental info: Optional on-campus elements based on student interest

VMCS 2111 Maps and Empire
Instructor: Lauren Beck (lbeck@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: Option to complete remotely if student is unable to be on campus; this course will always include required online elements and on-campus elements will be optional/ based on student interest

VMCS 3991 Experiential Material Culture
Instructor: Henry Cary (hcary@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: Option to complete remotely if student is unable to be on campus

SCIENCE

BIOC 1001 Introductory Biochemistry

Instructor: Jillian Rourke (jrourke@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: Option to complete remotely if student is unable to be on campus. Lectures are delivered online. Students may be permitted to participate in on-campus labs virtually via MS Teams. 

BIOL 1501 Cell Biology
Instructor: Vett Lloyd (vlloyd@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: Students will attend one lecture in person per week and the remaining two lectures will be livestreamed or recorded; students will attend the lab in person every second week and a virtual lab the other week

BIOL 3801 Theoretical and Evolutionary Ecology

Instructor: Emily Austen (eausten@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: Students may only be required to attend in person every second week

BIOL 3811 Conservation Biology
Instructor: TBA (biology@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: Option to complete remotely if student is unable to be on campus; students will be required to attend in person one day per week
 
BIOL 4211 Endocrinology
Instructor: Karen Crosby (kcrosby@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: Option to complete remotely if student is unable to be on campus

BIOL 4711 Advanced Design and Stat Analysis
Instructor: Diana Hamilton (dhamilton@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: Option to complete remotely if student is unable to be on campus

BIOL 4903 Current Advances in Biology
Instructor: Vett Lloyd (vlloyd@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: Option to complete remotely if student is unable to be on campus; attendance in person may only be required once per week

CHEM 1001 Introductory Chemistry I
Instructor: Glen Briand (gbriand@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: Students alternate between on-campus and virtual labs weekly; lectures are delivered in an unscheduled online-only format

MATH 1151 Applied Calculus

Instructor: Peter Lelievre (plelievre@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled Online-Only
Supplemental info: Option to register in a timetable conflict with the lecture period only

MATH 1311 Introduction to Data Science
Instructor: Matt Betti (mbetti@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled Online-Only
Supplemental info: Option to register in a timetable conflict with the lecture period only

MATH 3311 Probability and Stats I

Instructor: Peter Lelievre (plelievre@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled Online-Only
Supplemental info: Option to register in a timetable conflict with the lecture period only 

PHYS 1551-A/B General Physics II
Instructor: Fraser Turner (fcturner@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled Online-Only
Supplemental info: Option to register in a timetable conflict with the lecture period only; students have the option of registering for a scheduled online or on-campus lab

PHYS 3001 Astrophysics
Instructor: Catherine Lovekin (clovekin@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled Online-Only
Supplemental info: Option to register in a timetable conflict with the lab period only

SOCIAL SCIENCE


COMM 4321 Strategic Issues
Instructor: Rachelle Pascoe Deslauriers (rpascoedeslauriers@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled Online-Only
Supplemental info: Option to register in a timetable conflict with the lecture period only

ECON 1001 Microeconomics
Instructor: Stephen Law (slaw@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: Option to complete lecture and tutorials remotely via livestream if student is unable to be on campus

ECON 1011 Macroeconomics
Instructor: Frank Strain (fstrain@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled Online-Only
Supplemental info: Option to register in a timetable conflict

ECON 3921 International Finance
Instructor: Frank Strain (fstrain@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled Online-Only
Supplemental info: Option to register in a timetable conflict

ECON 4551 International Development

Instructor: Frank Strain (fstrain@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled Online-Only
Supplemental info: Option to register in a timetable conflict

POLS 3011 Modern Political Thought

Instructor: Loralea Michaelis (lmichael@mta.ca)
Delivery method: Scheduled On-Campus Elements
Supplemental info: Students will attend in-person once per week