Political science student Rachel Cundiff during her internship on Capitol Hill in Washington, DC.
The study of politics examines the nature and workings of power, state, and government; the rights and duties of citizenship; the limits and possibilities of collective political action; and the social, economic, and cultural formations that shape the life of the political community.
Program overview

Faculty: Faculty of Social Sciences
Degree options:

The politics and international relations department at Mount Allison combines traditional and innovative approaches to equip students with the knowledge and critical thinking skills they need for active and creative engagement with the world around them.

The political science program is organized into four main subfields: 

  • Canadian politics
  • comparative politics
  • international politics
  • political theory

The program offers students the opportunity to gain a strong foundation in all four subfields and to combine empirical, practical, and theoretical approaches in each year of study.

In addition to courses in Canadian politics, you may choose specialized area courses in Africa, Europe, the Middle East, and the United States.

If you wish to pursue a more intensive concentration in one particular subfield, you can also take courses in Canadian studies, international relations, history, and philosophy.

Find a list of political science courses in the academic calendar – politics and international relations.

Not sure about the difference between a major, a minor, and an honours?

More information

Learn more about this discipline or apply online now.