background image
/ 3
Alex Fancy ('61)
, right, with Campbell received the Lifetime Commu-
nity Award. This award recognizes outstanding achievement within or
contribution to a community outside of the Mount Allison community.
Kyle Hill ('06)
, pictured right with Campbell, received the Con-
temporary Community Award. This award recognizes outstanding
achievement by an alumnus/alumna within 10 years of graduation
from Mount Allison.
had dinner here in Ottawa recently with three good friends: Mount Allison alumni
making their way to the West coast for the summer. It was great to catch up on the
news and compare stories of our days on campus. You see, our friendship goes back
almost a week. These were three graduates of the Class of 2011 whom I had the great
fortune to meet during Reunion weekend. Each accomplished in their academic perfor-
mance and shining examples of involvement and stewardship. It was an honour for me to
be a part of their first journey from Mount Allison into the great world that awaits.
In many ways, the Mount Allison experience is about relationships and mutual growth.
Each of us benefitted not only from our academic education, but from the myriad of
discussions and experiences we shared while at Mount Allison. Those of us who come
back for Reunion benefit from new Allisonian experiences each time, both with new
graduates and with others making a triumphant return. If you haven't been yet, I would
encourage you to do so: time with old friends is like drinking from the fountain of youth,
if only for a weekend.
This is an exciting time at Mount Allison and for our alumni. I am deeply honoured to
assume the presidency of our association and am eager about continuing the fine work of
my predecessor, Andrew Clark, whose efforts have given the alumni not only a stronger
voice, but strong hands with which to support and advance our
Alma Mater. I am also
passionate about strengthening the bonds between alumni and current students. I want
each student to feel our support as alumni, 40,000 strong. I am confident they will benefit
from your wisdom and experience, and I am certain that we will benefit from theirs. After
all, it's the relationships that nurture growth.
David Rose ('90)
Alumni President
Mount Allison Alumni
Board of directors
David Rose '90
Vice-President & Secretary:
Sean M. Connors '81
Past President:
Andrew Clark '98
Honorary President:
Dawn (Reid) MacNutt '57
Anna Abbott '04
Shannon (Casey) Black '00
Layton Fisher '57
Janet Harrison '87
Harriet (Bruun) Leggett '61
Harriet (Campbell) Meacher '60
Jill (Hemeon) Rafuse '73
Charles Scott '83
Michael R. Taylor '03
Colin Tippett '97
Christina Vroom '96
Danny Williamson '03
Executive Director:
Carolle de Ste-Croix '90
Tel: 506-364-2348 Fax: 506-364-2262
Nominations Call
-- Nominations are open for the Alumni Board.
The Board works to promote and motivate the participation of alumni
and friends of Mount Allison with the University, through effective commu-
nication, events, and special initiatives.
Address nominations to:
Carolle de Ste-Croix, Alumni Office
65 York St., Sackville, NB E4L 1E4
AluMni president
Connecting across the decades