background image
6 / Summer 2011 / RECORD
CAMpus BeAt
onours Commerce and economics student Samuel
Imbeault is already making his mark in the business
world. Imbeault has held a perfect GPA of nearly 4.3

throughout his years at Mount Allison and is a 2011 recipient of
the Frank H. Sobey Award for Excellence in Business Studies, valued
at $10,000.
A native new Brunswicker, Imbeault is working to ensure his edu-
cation has international experience. He will use the Sobey Award to
complete an internship and volunteer in Cape Town, South Africa
and will then attend courses at the American University of Sharjah
in the United Arab Emirates before returning to Mount Allison
to complete his final year of studies. In 2010 he earned the Export
Development Canada International Business Scholarship and attended
Korea University in Seoul, Korea throughout the summer months.
Imbeault also studied in England -- all on top of maintaining a full
course load at Mount Allison.
Convocation celebrations at Mount Allison
Commerce student earns Frank H. sobey
Award for excellence in Business studies
Dr. Robert Campbell, Sheila Fraser, Douglas Coupland, Shelagh Rogers, Edward Burtynsky, Wendy Nielsen, and Chancellor Peter Mansbridge.
he Class of 2011 certainly did not let the rain get their
spirits down as they celebrated Convocation this spring.
Joining the approximately 430 students graduating were
honorary degree recipients: noted Canadian photographer Edward
Burtynsky; esteemed author and artist Douglas Coupland; Canada's
Auditor General Sheila Fraser; new Brunswick soprano and opera star
Wendy nielsen; and CBC personality and mental health and literacy
advocate Shelagh Rogers. University Chancellor and CBC news
Chief Correspondent Peter Mansbridge presided over Convocation
with President and Vice-Chancellor Robert Campbell, delighting
hundreds of graduates and their families as they received their degrees
from one of Canada's best known and most respected journalists.
Moncton resident and honours chemistry graduate John Wright
was selected by his peers to give the Valedictory address, while
honorary degree recipients Shelagh Rogers and Douglas Coupland
also addressed the Class of 2011.
Valedictorian John Wright addresses the Class of 2011.