background image
6 / Summer 2014 / RECORD
ollowing an outstanding Reunion Weekend, approximately
480 graduates joined the ranks of Mount Allison alumni
during Convocation ceremonies on May 12. Three Canadi-
an leaders were also honoured during the ceremonies: artist Dawn
MacNutt ('57), retired general John de Chastelain; the Rt. Hon.
Paul Martin all received honorary degrees.
Some of Mount Allison's top teachers were also recognized.
Canadian studies and English professor Dr. Christl Verduyn
was named the 2014 recipient of the Herbert and Leota Tucker
Teaching Award, while Drs. Karen Crosby ('04) (biology), Leslie
Kern (geography and environment), and Stephen Runge (Music)
received the Crake Teaching Awards.
Honours psychology student and Gold A winner Thomas
Williams was selected by his peers to deliver the memorable
valedictory address. Williams is returning to campus this fall as
the University's mental health outreach intern through the well-
ness centre.
r. Rosemary Polegato has received a 3M National Teach-
ing Fellowship -- Canada's highest recognition of
teaching excellence. Only 10 Fellowships are awarded
each year.
Polegato has created courses in sustainable marketing, arts and
culture management, and arts and culture marketing, which
marry business studies with arts and culture and explore the inter-
sections between consumers and the environment. She has built
vibrant relationships with the local and regional arts community
to benefit her students, creating internships and experiential learn-
ing opportunities that encourage self-responsibility for learning,
including the popular Culture Days events held each September.
Polegato is the seventh professor to receive this national award
while at Mount Allison. She previously received Mount Allison's
J.E.A. Crake Teaching Award and the Association of Atlantic
Universities Distinguished Teaching Award.
Commerce professor selected as 3M National Teaching Fellow
(l-r): Chancellor Peter Mansbridge, honorary degree recipients
Paul Martin, Dawn MacNutt, and John de Chastelain with
President Robert Campbell.