background image
/ 7
Mansbridge Summit
n January, Mount Allison hosted the second annual Mans-
bridge Summit. This day-long event, the result of a generous
gift from the John E. Irving family, saw students, faculty,
and leading Canadian experts come together on campus with
Chancellor Peter Mansbridge to discuss issues that are vital to
Canada's future. This year's event examined Canada's ethical role
in the face of a hypothetical worldwide water shortage.
Organized in part by Summit intern Kelsey Eatmon ('14), the
event saw students work in groups to produce panel briefings for
Chancellor Mansbridge. This included analyzing the world
water shortage, taking a stance on what Canada's role should be,
and providing arguments to go along with this stance, as well as
questions the Chancellor could use to query the panelists.
The panel briefings were used by the Chancellor to moderate a
public panel discussion with experts Bonita Croft ('87) (Trican
Well Service Ltd.), Dr. Jeremy Schmidt (Harvard University),
and Tony Maas (writer/advocate for health of Canada's waters).
Students also had the opportunity to work directly with CBC
producer Leslie Stojsic.
Class of 2014 begins new tradition with Last Lecture
he Class of 2014 started a new tradition this year with
the inaugural Last Lecture. The event brought together
graduating students for one last academic-focused gath-
ering that included listening to Jowi Taylor's Six String Nation
presentation, telling the story of Voyageur -- a guitar built from
pieces of Canadian history. The Class of 2014 also established a
time capsule, which includes mementos from the students' four
years at Mount Allison and postcards about their experiences.
They will open the time capsule at their 25th reunion in 2039.
During the Last Lecture, a number of major awards were handed
out recognizing student contributions to Mount Allison and the
The Don Norton Memorial Award, honouring the top graduat-
ing male student who makes the greatest overall contribution to
University life, went to Alex Whynot. Kylie de Chastelain was
awarded the Frances S. Allison Award, which is the top honour
for a female graduating student.
The Charlie Hunter Award, which is presented to a student who
has shown exemplary student leadership and demonstrated com-
mitment to student involvement and engagement, was award-
ed to Caleb Stark. Lauren Kervin took home the Gil Latter
Memorial Award, which honours a student who has volunteered
their time and demonstrated an outstanding contribution
to the Sackville community. The Barritt-Marshall Award was
given to Haruho Kubota. The award honours an individual who
has actively and passionately worked to promote the quality of
experience for international students at Mount Allison.
Four Gold A Awards were also presented at the event. They
recognize students who have made outstanding contributions
to the University community. This year's recipients are: Maria
Wilson, Georgia Sibold, Thomas Williams, and Ian Smith.
Award recipients (l-r) Lauren Kervin, Georgia Sibold, Thomas
Williams, Haruho Kubota, Caleb Stark, Alex Whynot, Kylie de
Chastelain, and Maria Wilson.
Participants from the 2014 Mansbridge Summit with Chancellor
Mansbridge and panelists.