50th anniversary of Canadian flag celebrated at Mount Allison Mount Allison, the Town of Sackville, and the Rotary/ Rotaract clubs celebrated the Canadian flag in style for its 50th anniversary. The iconic design was suggested by George Stanley (LLD ’67), Mount Allison’s first director of Canadian studies, and adopted in 1965. Members of the Stanley family returned to Sackville for a number of celebrations around Flag Day on Feb. 15, including the annual George F.G. Stanley Lecture, presented this year by post-doctoral fellow Dr. Meaghan Beaton. Grad Awards recognize stellar students at Last Lecture The Last Lecture highlighted the accomplishments of the Class of 2015 as major awards were announced. Economics student Ian Nason of Winnipeg, MB received the Don Norton Memorial Award, recognizing a graduating male student who, during his final year, makes the greatest overall contribution to University life. MASU President and honours psychology student Heather Webster of Bedford, NS took home the Frances S. Allison Award, which is the highest honour for a graduating female student. The Charlie Hunter Award, which is presented to a student who has shown exemplary student leadership and demonstrated commitment to student involvement and engagement, was awarded to honours geography and environment student Graham May of Powell River, BC. Sarah Peverill of Enfield, NS was presented with the Gil Latter Memorial Award, which honours a student who has volunteered their time and demonstrated an outstanding contribution to the Sackville community. Four Gold A Awards were also presented to recognize graduating students who have made outstanding contributions to the University community. This year’s recipients were: Celina Boothby, Rayan Bouhlel, Eilish Elliott, and Tess Robart. Two international awards were announced at the MOSAIC banquet. This year’s Barritt-Marshall Award went to Patricia Lawrenz of Sterling, IL. The award honours the graduating international student whose contributions to the internationalization of campus and the community have helped to promote cross-cultural understanding and co-operation. The Class of ’33 Awards, which are presented to international students in recognition of their leadership, extracurricular involvement, and commitment to promoting cross-cultural awareness and understanding, went to Ian Chew, Dia Minors, Shizuka Ebata, and Samantha Peña. Back row (L-R): Ian Nason, Heather Webster, and Graham May Front row (L-R): Tess Robart, Eilish Elliott, Celina Boothby, Sarah Peverill, and Rayan Bouhlel 7