background image
/ 3
I
am excited by the response to our focus on philanthropy in the last issue of the
Record, and I have enjoyed many interesting discussions with alumni, young and old,
as a result. One of the most common questions is particularly apropos in a difficult
economy when we are all working hard to make ends meet: `How can I best give back
when money is tight and I don't have spare time to volunteer?' Well, I've got a deal for you!
One of my focus areas during my term as president is to strengthen the bond between stu-
dents and alumni. It's an area that is so important to our strength as a community, and it's
where I need your help: We can form that bond before a student even arrives on campus.
I want you to think for a moment about the high school students in your extended circle
of friends. It could be the daughter of a work colleague, the son of a golf buddy, or perhaps
grandchildren of your neighbour. I encourage you to take a moment to share your story
with them. Regale them with tales of your past and invite them to consider the unique
and powerful qualities that the Mount Allison experience has to offer. You will be form-
ing a bond with a potential new Allisonian, which will benefit both the University and
the student as you instill that sense of community that makes Mount Allison so special.
If you prefer, a recruitment officer from admissions will be glad to provide you with
some information you can pass along to the prospective student. Of course, I would be
remiss if I did not suggest that if you need to brush up on your Mount A stories, a perfect
opportunity would be to join your friends and classmates at Reunion this year from May
11 to May 13. Don't be surprised if you come home with a few new stories to share!
So there it is: the most valuable gift you can give to Mount Allison is a new Allisonian.
We'll all be better for knowing them.

David Rose ('90)
Alumni President
Mount Allison Alumni
Board of directors
President:
David Rose '90
drose22@rogers.com
613-301-6442
Vice-President & Secretary:
Sean M. Connors '81
sean.connors@rogers.com
506-384-5570
Past President:
Andrew Clark '98
andrew@parklawnlp.ca
416-465-7078
Honorary President:
Dawn (Reid) MacNutt '57
macnutt@ns.sympatico.ca
902-752-3378
Directors:
Anna Abbott '04
ahabbtt@mta.ca
647-330-6454
Shannon (Casey) Black '00
shanbenjosh@yahoo.ca
902-429-4847
Layton Fisher '57
layton.fisher@gmail.com
506-939-2935
Janet Harrison '87
andrejanet@eastlink.ca
902-462-7055
Harriet (Bruun) Leggett '61
harrietl@xplornet.com
506-466-3786
Harriet (Campbell) Meacher '60
hcmeacher@pei.sympatico.ca
902-566-3677
Jill (Hemeon) Rafuse '73
rafuse@ns.sympatico.ca
902-492-4523
Charles Scott '83
scottc@accesswave.ca
902-832-4477
Michael R. Taylor '03
mr.taylor@mac.com
516-637-9037
Colin Tippett '97
colintippett@hotmail.com
506-755-0679
Christina Vroom '96
crashyvroom@yahoo.ca
514-933-2935
Danny Williamson '03
williamson.d@gmail.com
519-265-2541
Executive Director:
Carolle de Ste-Croix '90
cdestecroix@mta.ca
Tel: 506-364-2348 Fax: 506-364-2262
http://alumni.mta.ca
Nominations Call
-- Nominations are open for the Alumni Board.
The Board works to promote and motivate the participation of alumni
and friends of Mount Allison with the University, through effective commu-
nication, events, and special initiatives.
Address nominations to:
Carolle de Ste-Croix, Alumni Office
65 York St., Sackville, NB E4L 1E4
or alumni@mta.ca
ALuMni president
Give the gift of a student