26th Foundational Methods in Computer Science Workshop

Mount Allison University

May 31-June 2, 2018

Description: Foundational Methods in Computer Science is an annual workshop that brings together researchers in theoretical computer science and category theory. Past workshops have had discussions on areas such as quantum programming languages, restriction categories, database design, and the differential and resource logics. They have been held at Colgate, Dalhousie, Kananaskis (U of Calgary), Mount Allison, Ottawa, UBC, Spokane, and Portland. The 2018 workshop is informal and interdisciplinary.

There will be an informal welcoming reception on the evening of May 30th from 5:00-7:00pm. The scientific program starts on May 31st, and consists of research tutorials and contributed talks. The meeting ends on the afternoon of June 2nd.

Confirmed tutorial speakers:

Note that the arrival day this year is Wednesday, and talks will end Saturday afternoon. Participants will have time to travel on Saturday either to Halifax for QPL and MFPS, or to Fredericton for the CMS meeting.

Call for Participation/Talks: Anyone interested in attending is kindly requested to notify Bob Rosebrugh (contact information below). Please let us know by May 10th. If you wish to give a talk, please also send a title and short abstract.We particularly encourage graduate students to attend FMCS and to present their work. Some limited funding toward accommodation and travel expenses is available to support graduate students who attend FMCS. To apply for this funding you should contact Geoff Cruttwell (contact information below).

Registration: Registration will take place on site. The registration fee will be $80 (Canadian, to be paid in cash) per person, and there is a reduced rate of $40 for students, postdocs and retired faculty without a grant.

Programme: A welcoming reception will be held on the evening of May 30 from 5pm-7pm at the University Club in the President's Cottage, number 23 on the campus map. Talks will begin on the morning of May 31. All talks will be held in Room 106 of the Dunn building which is at the corner of York and Salem Streets and is number 18 on the campus map.

Abstracts and schedule of talks: TBA

Accommodation: We have reserved blocks of rooms in:

Bigelow House: A Mount Allison residence, right across the street from the Dunn Building. Check in on May 30; check out on June 2. Workshop participants can book these rooms through the web link below. They are single rooms with a twin bed, shared en-suite bathrooms, mini-fridge, microwave and television. Full kitchen and laundry room in the residence. Parking and WiFi are included. Price $45.00 + 15% HST
Register for residence accommodation at:
https://housing.mta.ca/StarRezPortalConference/go/Attendee Registration/139
If you need assistance you can write to the Accommodations Office (reservations@mta.ca).

Coastal Inn: which is located about 15 minutes walk from campus. Rooms available with Queen beds, or with two double beds. Check in on Wednesday May 30; check out on Saturday, June 2. You must book by April 29. Price $99.00 + 15% HST. Contact the Coastal Inn directly, mentioning that you will attending the FMCS Conference at Mount Allison.

Other options:
The Marshlands Inn and Savoy Arms are more upscale accomodation; both are about 10 minutes walk from campus. Be sure to book early if you wish to stay at either of these locations.

Travel to Sackville: The closest airport to Sackville is the Moncton airport (YQM). Taxis from the Moncton airport to Sackville can be quite expensive (~$80 one way) and should be booked ahead of time. We will be organizing some rides to and from the airport at various times; when you know your plans, let us know when your flight will be arriving so that we can arrange this.


Kristine Bauer (Calgary)
Jonathan Bradet-Legris (Mount Alliison)
Matthew Burke (Calgary)
Michael Ching (Amherst)
Cole Comfort (Calgary)
Geoff Cruttwell (Mount Alliison)
Jeff Egger (UPEI)
Yves Fomatati (Ottawa)
Michael Lambert (Dalhousie)
Jean-Simon Lemay (Oxford)
Rory Lucyshyn-Wright (Mount Alliison)
Benjamin MacAdam (Calgary)
Ernie Manes (Massachusetts)
Nicholas Meadows (Western Ontario)
Phil Mulry (Colgate)
Robert Paré (Dalhousie)
Paolo Perrone (Max Planck Institute, Leipzig)
Hayley Reid (Mount Alliison)
Francisco Rios (Dalhousie)
Bob Rosebrugh (Mount Alliison)
Robert Seely (Mcgill)
Peter Selinger (Dalhousie)
Yan Steimle (Ottawa)
Tarmo Uustala (Tallinn University of Technology)
Al Vilcius
Updated 2018-05-11

Geoff Cruttwell     Rory Lucyshyn-Wright     Bob Rosebrugh
(506) 364-2533     (506) 364-2535     (506) 364-2538
gcruttwell@mta.ca     rlucyshynwright@mta.ca     rrosebrugh@mta.ca

Sponsors: We would like to thank:

AARMS                     Mount Allison University